AT Opening: Instant Image

??

Opening: 5 pm – 7 pm, 2016.7.2 (Sat)
Duration: 2016.7.3 – 2016.8.28
Curator: Dai Zhuoqun
Artist: Lin Jiayue, Li Shurui, Shi Zhiying, Song Jiayin, Wu Di, Yuan Keru, Zhu Tian
Leo Gallery Shanghai Ferguson Lane, 376 Wukang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
+86-21 5465 8785

Instant Image

Leo Gallery proudly presents “Instant Image”, a group exhibition of 7 female artists, curated by independent curator Dai Zhuoqun. The exhibition runs from 2016.7.3 until 2016.8.28, and it’s also the fourth round of our annual exhibition plan “Soft Power”. Artists include Lin Jiayue, Li Shurui, Shi Zhiying, Song Jiayin, Wu Di, Yuan Keru, and Zhu Tian.

The linguistics of image and word are distinctive. When images leap to the human eyes, they link the surface of this world to us. Apparently, images do not have to go through barriers like words do; they can go beyond various languages and cultures in a natural manner. One does not need to learn and master certain symbols when looking at the images.

However, considering the inspection and analysis of images, they are more complicated and of subtle dissidence compared to words. The atlas of knowledge and the transformation of symbols are hidden inside the images; all bring viewers into inner scopes that cannot be seen on the surface. Via the subjective inspections, images are shown in new different forms and meanings endlessly, and express the discussion with its original ideas.

Time is considered to be a form of existence by itself. But the knowledge and reflection of time will inevitably lead human beings to their own dilemmas. Time always flies, and it never stops. In the art field, artists attempt to seize the momentary things by creating images in the time flow that can never be rewound, but these efforts will not all go in vain. During the creation, demonstration, observation and interaction, art works divide time into sentimental areas of endless dimensions which exist in perceptions, understandings, explanations, retrospections and expectations.

In some sense, each moment can be infinity. In other words, the future exists in the present. All presentations of things in the future are definitely determined by one specific moment. The complication and subtleness of this logic are gone beyond the area constructed by reason and order. The artistic expressions created in the form of images and the following objects already include endless possibilities and cognitive forms that nurture endless concepts. Wittgenstein once said: “People must keep silent, when facing unspeakable things.”

Curator: Dai Zhuoqun
2016/6/22

Opening pictures:

Selected Works:

Lin Jiayue

Lin Jiayue, The Artist’s Feeling Is His Law, Collectible Digital Print, 80 x 53 cm x 3, Edition 2/3, 2016

The great Romantic artist Caspar David Friedrich summed up Romanticism saying “the artist’s feeling is his law”.
The scenery here is not with intense emotion of romanticism; instead, Lin gives it a detached feeling of substance, by intervene the objects calmly. The whole piece consists of three photographs which are taken in the forests in Michigan in America where used to be graveyards of Indian people a hundred years ago.

Lin concerns the space is the fundamental form of an expression of the artwork. She focuses on the experience of creation and rational structure based on senses. The visual experience she intends to offer is the one that leads to a state of vanity. It is inevitable to use factual materials to achieve the purpose; however, Lin prefers to keep a distance from the reality by diminishing material factors as much as possible in her art creation process.

Lin does not wish to see the relationship between her artworks and materials as an objective thing detached from the subject, or an object hung on the wall or put aside. The experience of changes is important to her. She tries her best to stay independent that is absolutely personal in her artwork creations.

Li Shurui

Li Shurui, Please Sit Down No.5, Acrylic on Wood Board, 60 x 88 x 91 x 46 cm, 2015-2016

“Light” and “space” are keywords in the oeuvre of Li Shurui. She wholeheartedly believes that depending on different cultures and time-periods, the use of “light” and “space” can reflect and shape the needs and mental states of individuals within a specific era.

Shi Zhiying

Shi Zhiying, White Sphere, Oil on Canvas, 30 x 40 cm, 2015

Shi Zhiying, White Sphere, Oil on Canvas, 30 x 40 cm, 2015

In her most recent artistic creations, Shi Zhiying creates glass beads – with their peculiar sense of substance – into the object of her experimentation. The inspiration for these creations comes from the novel The Glass Bead Game by Herman Hesse. She takes the content and values of human culture in its entirety as the object of her practice, so as to reconstruct the subtle link between the glass bead game (which involves the spiritual implications of the entire universe) and the game rules of the painting praxis. In so doing, she builds on the dimensions of time and space and the pictorial expression of the object’s substantiality, both of which have always been the concern of (her) creative practice.

Song Jiayin

Song Jiayin, Mark, Mixed Material, 68 x 98 x 17 cm, 2016

Song Jiayin, Mark, Mixed Material, 68 x 98 x 17 cm, 2016

This work is part of the artwork “You Are The Mark That I Drew with My Nail on The Sky”, and is composed of a group of mixed materials within the relief sculpture. Similar to an excerpt of a novel, it can be part of the plot and also an independent story.

Wu Di

Wu Di, 8, Acrylic on Wood Board, Digital Print on Paper, 137 x 117 cm, 2015

Wu Di, 8, Acrylic on Wood Board, Digital Print on Paper, 137 x 117 cm, 2015

Wu Di’s work features paintings, collages and installations, and often gives out a sense of perceptual conflicts and multiple layers of viewing experiences through the overlaying and collages of images. When religion is interwoven with human misery, the scenes of reality hereby reflected is brimming with a sense of mysticism. The eight pieces of painting/collage are all recently made. Through the organic and ingenious combinations different materials, emptiness and fullness, positivity and negativity, part and whole, continuity and cessation, wander through the classic and the contemporary in a state where conflicts and harmony co-exist, completely breaking through the boundary between painting and photography. By “returning to the origin”, her practice probes into how images are produced, reproduced and viewed and hence can also be seen as the internal process for the symbolization of man as existence. The large-scale installation at the atrium of the gallery space imbues the whole space with a sense of glory and harmoniously fits with the overall architectural space.

Yuan Keru

Yuan Keru, Moon and Sixpence, Three-Screen Video Installation, Editions5, 2016

Yuan Keru, Moon and Sixpence, Three-Screen Video Installation, Editions: 5, 2016

The Moon Penny was derived from the Moon and Sixpence written by Maugham. With the prototype of the artist Gao Geng, it narrated Corland who was suddenly stuck on painting and he originally had stable occupation and happy family. He leaf his family, just like being possessed by the “evil”. Moreover, in order to pursue for artistic idea and peaceful soul, he left the civilization world and went far away to the isolated Tahitian Island. Of course, in the novel Maugham gave more imagination on the figure, so that he became an artistic geek who was not allowed to be moved by the world life. The book name came from a joke from a friend, “people often forgot sixpence when they looking upon “the sixpence”, namely opposition of arts and reality.

Therefore, Tahitian became an airship. Five figures in the film hid from the magic, unique and mysterious glass pace to retire from the world. They didn’t communicate by language, their body language and performance also become a kind of rite (such as look up and climb). They tried to get close to the “moon” between levels. What is the
moon? This is the thing that Keru has been confused and the thing she has searched.

Zhu Tian

Zhu Tian, Hey, Performance video, Single channel, Colour, Sound, 5min57s, 2015

Zhu Tian, Hey, Performance video, Single channel, Colour, Sound, 5’57″, 2015

Hey is a performance video, where the artist dragged a parachute behind a van across the city of Xiamen in China.

ArtThat, Editorial

艺廊网ArtThat作为独树一帜的生活美学跨界平台,引领从创意到收藏的新风潮。ArtThat is the unique crossover platform of arts and lifestyle to lead a brand new trend from Creative to Collection. 艺廊网ArtThat原创文章欢迎分享到朋友圈。转载请联系微信公众号artthat获取许可。

Be first to comment


+ three = 5

AT现场:图像刹那

??

开幕:2016.7.2 周六 晚上5点-7点
展期:2016.7.3 – 2016.8.28
策展人:戴卓群
艺术家:林甲悦,李姝睿,石至莹,宋佳茵,吴笛,袁可如,朱田
狮语画廊. 上海 上海徐汇区武康路376号 武康庭内
+86-21 5465 8785

图像刹那

Leo Gallery狮语画廊荣幸地宣布,我们将于2016年7月3日至8月28日举办由独立策展人戴卓群策展,7位女艺术家参与的联展“图像刹那”,而这也是我们每年一度女性艺术家常设展览计划”Soft Power”的第四回项目。此次参展艺术家包括林甲悦,李姝睿,石至莹,宋佳茵,吴笛,袁可如,朱田。

图像与文字的语言方式不同,在图像映入人眼视网膜的一刻,即将人与世界的表象联系了起来。表面来看,图像不需要穿越如同文字的壁垒与隔阂,图像天然地可以跨越各种语言和文化,无需学习和掌握特定符号即能接触和感知。

然而,对于图像的审视与解析,比起文字来却又充满更加复杂暧昧的歧见,隐含于图像背后的意志图谱以及象征的转换,都将观者引入表面不可见的内在眼光,图像通过进入主观的审视,无穷尽地获致新的形象与意味,展现出与其原境的观念磋商。

时间,被认为是一种实存本身的形式,但对于时间的认识与反思,无可避免将人类导向自身的困境,时间流逝如梭,片刻不曾驻留。在艺术中,通过图像挽留刹那间的事物,在不可逆转的时间绵延中却亦非徒劳无益,作品在创造、展示、观看与流通中,将时间分解成无限维度的感性区间,存在于感知、理解、阐释、追溯与期待之中。

在某种意义上,刹那即是永恒。或者换句话说,未来永远地存在于当下的时刻,事物在未来的一切展现,绝对地由当下一刻所决定和造成,尽管这种逻辑背后的明晦与混杂超出理性秩序所能建构的范畴,但通过图像创造的艺术表述及其对象物,已然包涵了演生无穷观念的可能性与认知形式。维特根斯坦说,对于不可言说的东西,人们必须以沉默待之。

策展人:戴卓群
2016/6/22

开幕现场:

部分参展作品:

林甲悦

林甲悦 艺术家的感觉是其法律 收藏级数码微喷 80 x 53 cm x 3 第2/3版 2016

“艺术家的感觉是其法律”是卡斯帕尔•大卫•弗雷德里希的名言。这里的风景并非浪漫主义式的激烈情感,而是意图通过冷静的介入,赋予其一种疏离的物质感。

整个作品由三张照片组成,这些风景摄于美国密西根奥克斯堡,拍摄地点的森林附近是百年前印第安人的墓地。

在林甲悦看来空间是作品呈现的一个基本形态,而她着意的是创造一种经验,一种基于感官的理性建构,她想提供的视觉经验是导向虚无状态,保持与现实的距离,在创作中尽可能消减物质性因素,虽然艺术家不得不借助物质实体来达成结果。与物质的关系状态,林甲悦不希望是一个挂在墙上或摆放起来的对象,一个抽离主体的客观对象。处在变化中的经验,对她来说是重要的,创作的努力是导向一个场域,一个绝对属于个人的独立场域。

李姝睿

李姝睿 请坐 No.5 木板上丙烯 60 x 88 x 91 x 46 cm 2015-2016

“光”和“空间”是李姝睿所有作品的关键词,她坚信在不同的文化和时代里,“光”和“空间”的运用都能反映和塑造时代中个体的需求和精神状态。

石至莹

Shi Zhiying, White Sphere, Oil on Canvas, 30 x 40 cm, 2015

石至莹 白球体 布面油画 30 x 40 cm 2015

近期创作中,石至莹将具有独特实体感的玻璃珠子作为实践对象,其灵感缘起于黑塞的小说《玻璃球游戏》。她将以人类全部文化的内容与价值为对象,再现了整个宇宙精神内涵的玻璃球游戏与绘画实践的游戏规则微妙关联,并延续着创作实践中始终关注的空间与时间维度以及对象实体感的绘画性表达。

宋佳茵

Song Jiayin, Mark, Mixed Material, 68 x 98 x 17 cm, 2016

宋佳茵 标记 综合材料 68 x 98 x 17 cm 2016

这件作品是《你是我用指甲在天上划出的标记》其中一个片段,一大组综合材料的浮雕的部分,就像一篇小说的节选,组成情节,又可能独立成篇。

吴笛

Wu Di, 8, Acrylic on Wood Board, Digital Print on Paper, 137 x 117 cm, 2015

吴笛 8 木板丙烯数码打印图片 137 x 117 cm 2015

吴笛的作品多以绘画、拼贴、装置为主,常常呈现一种感知上的冲突,结合多重观看和呈现形成的叠加,形成观看和体验的多重经验。宗教气息与人们悲惨境遇相交织,充满着神秘主义色彩的同时又折射出人们现实的境遇。她的绘画/拼贴作品,利用不同材料之间的有机组合,虚与实、正与负、整体与局部、连续与断裂,在矛盾与和谐并存的状态下游走于古典和当代之间,完全打破了绘画与摄影之间的界限。在“返回原点”的层面上探讨了图像被制造、复制和观看,以至于内化为人之所以存在的象征物这一过程。

袁可如

Yuan Keru, Moon and Sixpence, Three-Screen Video Installation, Editions5, 2016

袁可如 月亮便士 3屏幕影像装置 版数:5 2016

《月亮便士》来源于毛姆的小说《月亮和六便士》,小说以画家高更为原型,讲述了有着稳定职业、美满家庭的思特夫克兰德突然迷恋上绘画,像“被魔鬼附了体”般弃家出走,并且为了追求艺术理想、灵魂的宁静而离开文明世界,远遁到与世隔绝的塔希提岛上死去。当然在书里,毛姆给了这个人物更多的想象,让他成为一个之后完全不被世俗生活打动的艺术怪才。而这个书名,据说是一个朋友与毛姆开玩笑,“人们在仰望月亮时常常忘了脚下的六便士”,大概是所谓艺术和实际的对立。

在影片中,“塔希提Tahiti”成为艺术家袁可如眼中的一个科幻概念,她以著名建筑师张永和先生在西岸艺术中心的垂直玻璃房(也是影片实景拍摄地)为原型,结合3D 数字特效,将它做成在冰河世纪上空出现的一个神秘飞行器,而影片中的五个人物躲在这个魔幻、奇特的玻璃空间里避世,他们不靠语言交流,他们的肢体行为和舞蹈表演也成为一种仪式(例如仰望、攀爬),在层次与层次之间,他们企图更接近“月亮”。而这个月亮到底是什么?这其实是艺术家对自我和艺术本身的困惑,她通过这些人物来展现在创作里的天真、灵性、模仿、躁动、痛苦、恐惧、热情、迷恋、寻觅等等的状态。作品以影像装置和电影单片两种方式呈现。

朱田

Zhu Tian, Hey, Performance video, Single channel, Colour, Sound, 5min57s, 2015

朱田 嘿 行为录像 单屏,彩色,有声 5分57秒 2015

《嘿》记录了艺术家于2015年在厦门做驻留项目期间,驾驶着一辆面包车拖着降落伞穿梭于厦门城市各处街道的行为作品。

ArtThat, Editorial

艺廊网ArtThat作为独树一帜的生活美学跨界平台,引领从创意到收藏的新风潮。ArtThat is the unique crossover platform of arts and lifestyle to lead a brand new trend from Creative to Collection. 艺廊网ArtThat原创文章欢迎分享到朋友圈。转载请联系微信公众号artthat获取许可。

成为第1个评论者


九 − 1 =