Sotheby’s S|2 Celebrates Hong Kong Arts Month with Alex Katz

Stand de la galería Javier López en ARCO 2017

In celebration of Hong Kong Arts Month, Sotheby’s S|2 is honoured to present American artist Alex Katz’s debut major selling exhibition in Hong Kong this March. Running from 15 March – 1 April, the eponymous exhibition ALEX KATZ offers iconic portraits and landscapes by the now 91-year-old titan of modernist figurative art.

Stand de la galería Javier López en ARCO 2017

Vivien, 2016, oil on linen, 152.4 x 381 cm

Alex Katz established his career in New York in the 1950s in the heyday of Abstract Expressionism, countering the rise of abstraction with a pioneering modernist figurative aesthetic. Characterised by bold vibrant colour, pristine flat surfaces and a virtuosic economy of line, Katz’s celebrated portraits and landscapes are widely regarded as a precursor of Pop Art. His most recognisable works consist of large-scale canvases featuring everyday scenes and subjects, largely devoid of narrative and context in order to foreground the immediacy of the moment. Spanning some 70 years, Katz’s oeuvre is devoted to what he describes as “painting in the present tense”, revealing his sensitive attention to his immediate milieu: scenes of social interaction, landscapes, flowers, and portraits of friends and family – his wife and muse Ada in particular.

Alex Katz, Red Tulips, 1967 HD

Red Tulips, 1967, oil on canvas, 91.4 x 181.6 cm

Yuki Terase, Head of Contemporary Art, Asia, states, “In continuation of our innovative initiatives that reflect global currents of the art market, Sotheby’s is honoured to introduce Alex Katz to Hong Kong. Katz’s seminal minimal figurative aesthetic not only anticipated the Pop Art explosion in New York in the 1960s but also influenced generations of artists around the world. Following the artist’s recent shows in Shanghai and Seoul, we are excited to unveil more of his iconic works to the maturing Asian market.

Jonathan Wong, Gallery Director, states, “Aligning with the Gallery’s long-term commitment to introduce significant Western artists to Asia, Sotheby’s is thrilled to present Alex Katz’s debut major solo exhibition in Hong Kong. The city’s much anticipated Art Month is apt timing for such an occasion. We believe that Katz’s bold and pioneering paintings will resonate well in Asia and create new dialogues and perspectives within the current art scene, allowing both established and first-time collectors to rediscover the diversity of contemporary art.”

Alex Katz, Ascension, 2002 HD

Ascension, 2002, oil on linen, 167.6 by 228.6 cm

Art Market Perspective: Alex Katz

David Hockney, for example, the English artist whose works have long been drawn comparisons to those by Katz, have been receiving feverish responses in the market. His 1972 painting Portrait of an Artist (Pool with Two Figures) made news headlines in November 2018 when it fetched US$90 million at a Christie’s sale in New York, and the work went on to become the most expensive painting by a living artist sold at auction.

The ways how the art market functions go against the intrinsic value of art at times and this is particularly true in the case of Katz.

Born in 1927 in New York to a family of Russian immigrants, Katz grew up during the times of the Great Depression. He enrolled The Cooper Union Art School in Manhattan in 1946 and held his debut solo show at Roko Gallery in 1954. He went on to define his artistic style in the later decades that anticipated the Pop Art movement while drawing inspirations from his wife Ada, his life-long muse. His artistic achievements have long been recognised, with numerous accolades under his belt and his works in the collection of some of the world’s leading institutions such as the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the Tate Gallery in London. In 1986, a retrospective of Katz was held at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York.

Alex Katz paintings

Elise, 2013, oil on linen, 167.6 x 122 cm

Despite all these recognitions, however, Katz’s art has yet to fit in with the game of the art market, just like how he described himself in the New Yorker: “I never fit in. I’m not a Pop artist, and people can’t see my work is realistic, either.” He is also well aware of how his works have been criticised for being “simple”, as he told the Financial Times.

Perhaps living in an age saturated with chaos and information overload, simplicity has become a virtue that is overlooked.

Vivienne Chow

Journalist and cultural critic based in Hong Kong. She is the founder of the non-profit Cultural Journalism Campus and a lecturer at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

About Alex Katz (1927- )

Alex Katz, The Times, May 5, 2012

Born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1927, the American artist undertook formal training at both the Cooper Union School of Art and the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in the late 1940s. Although Katz’s career coincided with the height of Abstract Expressionism, he moved towards greater realism in his paintings in the late 1950s and started to develop his unique style, anticipating the emergence of Pop Art with his artistic innovations.

In 1959, he pioneered the medium of ‘cutouts’ and has maintained the aesthetic of these early works throughout his career. With inspirations taken from billboard advertising, films and television that dominated American life, Katz started creating large-scale paintings in the early 1960s. His massive canvas of group portraitures depicted the social life of America from the 1960s to the modern time. Integrating symbols of American culture into his creation, Katz has made himself now an essential part of this culture.

Katz’s first solo exhibition was held at the Roko Gallery in 1954, and in three decades, Whitney Museum of American Art held his first retrospective in 1986. Today, Katz’s works are by collected major museums worldwide, including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (U.S.); the Museum of Modern Art, New York (U.S.); the Tate Gallery, London (U.K.) and the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum (Japan), among others.

EXHIBITION DETAILS

Date and Opening Hours: 15 March – 1 April 2019 Mon – Sun 10am – 6pm
Venue: Sotheby’s Hong Kong S|2 Gallery, 5/F, One Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong
Enquiries: (852) 2886 7887

蘇富比 Sotheby’s

蘇富比拍卖行自1744 年起为艺术收藏家搜罗世界级的艺术作品。蘇富比拥有强大的环球网络,共有80个办事处遍及全球40个国家,是纽约证券交易所历史最悠久的上市公司,代号为BID。Sotheby’s has been uniting collectors with world-class works of art since 1744. Sotheby’s has a global network of 80 offices in 40 countries and is the oldest company listed on the New York Stock Exchange (BID).

Be first to comment


eight − = 3

为庆祝香港艺术3月 蘇富比Sl2隆重呈献亚历克斯‧卡茨

Stand de la galería Javier López en ARCO 2017

为庆祝香港艺术3月,蘇富比S|2将隆重呈献美国当代艺术家亚历克斯‧卡茨(Alex Katz)于香港首个大型个人作品展。现年91岁的卡茨是最具影响力的在世美国艺术家之一,其同名展售会将于3月15日至4月1日在香港S|2蘇富比艺术空间举行,届时将展出这位现代具象大师多幅标志性肖像及风景画作。

Stand de la galería Javier López en ARCO 2017

亚历克斯‧卡茨,《费雯丽》, 2016年作, 油彩亚麻布, 152.4 x 381 cm

卡茨的艺术事业始于1950年代纽约,正值抽象表达主义最蓬勃之时。他以极富个人特色的崭新现代具象美学,响应当时主导潮流的抽象风格。艺术家的肖像及风景作品被视为波普艺术的先驱——鲜艳夺目的用色、简单原始的线条和平涂的轮廓,都是他的创作标记。卡茨最为人熟悉的作品,是以日常生活为题的大尺幅油画,借着除去背境与论述,让观者只注目于当下的主角。他曾以“用现在式绘画(painting in the present tense)”形容自己70 年的创作生涯,充分表达其对周遭环境的观察敏锐:社交场合、自然风光、花卉、家人朋友,特别是他的妻子及缪思埃达(Ada),常跃然于他的画作上。

Alex Katz, Red Tulips, 1967 HD

《郁金香》,1967 年作,油彩画布,91.4 x 181.6 公分

蘇富比亚洲区当代艺术部主管寺瀬由纪(Yuki Terase)表示:“蘇富比致力推陈出新,紧贴艺术市场最新动向,贯彻这股创新精神,我们很荣幸把亚历克斯‧卡茨的作品带到香港。卡茨的极简具象美学不但在1960年代纽约开创了波普艺术的先河,更深深影响全球不同年代的艺术家。继卡茨最近于 上海及首尔举办展览,我们很高兴能把画家更多标志性的作品带到日趋成熟的亚洲市场。”

香港蘇富比艺术空间策划总监黄杰瑜表示:“蘇富比一直以把重要西方艺术家引进亚洲市场为己任,今年我们将在全城期待的艺术三月,举行美国艺术家卡茨在香港的首个大型作品展。我们相信卡茨新颖大胆的作品能让亚洲观众产生共鸣,并在当今艺坛掀起新一轮的对话和见解,让资深及新进藏家重新发掘当代艺术的多样性。”

Alex Katz, Ascension, 2002 HD

《上行》,2002年作,油彩亚麻布, 167.6 x 228.6 cm

艺术市场透视:亚历克斯·卡茨

一直以来,人们都将英国艺术家大卫·霍克尼与卡茨的作品相提并论,但前者在市场上极受追捧,其1972年作品《艺术家肖像(泳池与两个人像)》在2018年11月纽约佳士得拍卖会上创出9,000万美元天价,轰动一时,成为任何在世艺术家最昂贵的拍卖作品。

由此可见,在艺术市场上的成绩与艺术品的真正价值不时背道而驰,这一点在卡茨身上尤为确切。

1927年,卡茨生于纽约一个俄罗斯移民家庭,成长期间正值经济大萧条。1946年,他入读曼哈顿库珀联盟艺术学校(The Cooper Union Art School),并于1954年在洛克画廊(Roko Gallery)首次举行个展。后来波普艺术运动蓬勃发展的数十年间,他一边磨砺自己的艺术风格,一边从毕生缪思──爱妻艾达的身上汲取灵感。他的艺术成就早已获得世人认同,并屡获嘉奖,作品获全球各地顶级艺术机构收藏,包括纽约现代艺术博物馆和伦敦泰特美术馆。1986年,纽约惠特尼美国艺术博物馆为卡茨举办回顾展。

Alex Katz paintings

《埃莉斯》,2013年作,油彩亚麻布,167.6 x 122 cm

尽管盛名远播,卡茨的创作却与艺术市场的游戏规则格格不入,一如他在《纽约客》杂志中形容自己:“我从来都是格格不入。我不是波普艺术家,人们也不觉得我的作品走写实风格。”他也曾经向《金融时报》表示清楚知道自己的画被批评过于“简单”。

也许生活在混乱纷繁、信息过载的年代,“简单”正是遭人忽略的美德。

Vivienne Chow

资深文化记者及评论家,现居香港。她创办了非营利组织文化新闻学研习营,同时任教于香港中文大学。

关于亚历克斯‧卡茨(生于 1927 年)

Alex Katz, The Times, May 5, 2012

亚历克斯‧卡茨于1927年在美国布鲁克林出生,1940年代后期在曼哈顿库珀联盟艺术学校(Cooper Union School of Art)及缅因州斯考基干绘画雕塑学校(Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture)接受艺术教育。虽然卡茨的创作生涯正值抽象主义盛行之时,他的作品在1950年后期更趋向现实主义,并开始建立独树一帜的美学风格,成为波普艺术的先驱。

1959年,卡茨开创了「cutouts」这种崭新媒材,并沿用这种美学特色至今。电影、电视剧及广告牌设计主导着当时美国人的生活,卡茨亦从中取得创作灵感,在1960年代初期开始绘画大尺幅作品。他的大型群体肖像画描绘由60年代至今的美国社会 生活。透过把文化符号融合创作之中,卡茨本人亦因而成为美国文化不可或缺的部分。

1954年,卡茨于纽约Roko画廊举行首次个人展览;三十年后,Whitney 美国艺术博物馆在 1986 年 为他举办其首个作品回顾展。时至今日,他的作品被全球多间重要美术馆收藏,当中包括纽约大都会艺术博物馆(Metropolitan Museum of Art)及现代艺术博物馆(MoMA)、伦敦泰特现代博物馆 (Tate Gallery),及东京都美术馆等。

展览详情

开放日期及时间:3月15日至4月1日 星期一至日 早上10时至下午6时
地点:香港 Sl2 蘇富比艺术空间 香港金钟道 88 号太古广场一座五楼
查询:(852) 2886 7887

蘇富比 Sotheby’s

蘇富比拍卖行自1744 年起为艺术收藏家搜罗世界级的艺术作品。蘇富比拥有强大的环球网络,共有80个办事处遍及全球40个国家,是纽约证券交易所历史最悠久的上市公司,代号为BID。Sotheby’s has been uniting collectors with world-class works of art since 1744. Sotheby’s has a global network of 80 offices in 40 countries and is the oldest company listed on the New York Stock Exchange (BID).

成为第1个评论者


× 7 = 四十 二